Mr. Coffee® Café 20-Ounce Steam Automatic Espresso and Cappuccino Machine, Black
2.8 out of 5 Customer Rating
Mr. Coffee® Café 20-Ounce Steam Automatic Espresso and Cappuccino Machine is rated 2.8 out of 5 by 101.
  • y_2020, m_11, d_29, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_101
  • loc_en_US, sid_SP_544008, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_mrcoffee-jcs
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 0ms
  • reviews, product
Mr. Coffee® Café 20-Ounce Steam Automatic Espresso and Cappuccino Machine, Black
2.8 out of 5 Customer Rating
Mr. Coffee® Café 20-Ounce Steam Automatic Espresso and Cappuccino Machine is rated 2.8 out of 5 by 101.
  • y_2020, m_11, d_29, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_101
  • loc_en_US, sid_SP_544008, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_mrcoffee-jcs
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 0ms
  • reviews, product
Final Sale: may not be returned or exchanged
Final Sale: may not be returned or exchanged

Product Details

Description
Equipped with a powerful frother, the Mr. Coffee® Steam Automatic Espresso and Cappuccino Machine creates rich espressos and whips up your lattes and cappuccinos to light, frothy perfection. Brew 20 ounces of espresso into the easy-to-pour glass decanter for custom serving sizes from one to four cups. Its stay-cool handle and drip-free spout make it easy to brew your favorite drinks without mess or hassle.
  • Brews up to 4 shots of delicious espresso coffee
  • Steam Heat system forces hot steam through the filter for a dark, rich espresso brew
  • Milk frother provides frothing for creamy cappuccinos and lattes
  • Removable, washable drip tray collects coffee drips and keeps brew space tidy
  • Includes ceramic mug for drinking or frothing
  • "ERROR:#N/A"
Specifications
  • Model#: BVMCECM170
  • Wattage: 900
  • Batteries Required: No
  • Material Type: Plastic, Stainless Steel
Care & Maintenance
Make sure the control knob is in the “Off” position. Fill water measuring cup to the 4 cup mark with fresh, undiluted white household vinegar. Add vinegar to the water reservoir. Brew just enough to get some vinegar to come out. Steam just enough to get some vinegar to come out, then unplug the machine. Allow appliance to sit overnight with the vinegar solution in the water reservoir. Discard vinegar through the top opening of the espresso maker by turning the machine upside down over the sink. Rinse the water reservoir thoroughly with tap water by filling tank half full with water and then pouring the water back out into the sink, repeating this step twice. Brew and steam with fresh water at least 4 times or until you do not smell any vinegar.
Once every 1 to 3 months depending on usage and the type of water, we recommend that you delime your machine to keep it working properly.
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Great Price; Lousy Spro I received this as a gift. I appreciate the convenience this machine has. It’s pretty simple process to brew a cup of espresso. The instructions give you all you need to know to operate the machine, however does not provide any tips on brewing the best espresso. I’ve tried numerous techniques but I cannot brew a quality cup. There is just too much water pouring through the grounds even though I’ve ground them really fine. Also, this leads to a lack of head. I’ve tried several grinders, I’ve applied more than 40# or pressure when tamping, and I’ve tamped evenly. I’ve about had it with this machine.
Date published: 2019-01-06
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I really wish this just WORKED :( This espresso maker is quick enough and easy to use, but it breaks so quickly! I have gone through two units in less than a year. On the first, the milk frother broke after first use - the black plastic piece split. Then after a few months, the knob to turn to brew or steam shattered! So the entire machine was completely unusable at that point. On the second unit, the milk frother broke in the same way after a few weeks, and will not operate at all. I cannot evacuate the system of water and it is a bit risky to use because it tends to spurt steam once completed, when I try to open the top.
Date published: 2019-12-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good little machine, but I received this expresso machine for a Birthday present. Makes a small cup of expresso but it will do. What i was disappointed with is that with my second time using it, the black steam wand covering melted and broke away. I know I can steam without it, but why did it break off and get real soft?
Date published: 2018-02-18
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Disappointing... I've had this machine for over a year and use it daily. The dial was always difficult to turn but extra pressure would get it started. Until today. I turned it on and it snapped off in my hand. The part that broke was just plastic. Terrible choice for constant use and very likely would have lasted longer if made with a stronger material (metal?). So disappointed. I inherited an older Mr. Coffee espresso maker from my brother and he had used it for years. I had it for at least five years so felt buying another Mr. Coffee was a safe bet. I guess they don't make them like they use to!
Date published: 2020-04-06
Rated 1 out of 5 by from The worst I bought this in target at least one month ago i have used four times in my fifth time the frother broke . I waste my money . The only reason i bought this machine was to make espresso. It doesn't work
Date published: 2018-07-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quick and Inexpensive Espresso! The Mr Coffee espresso maker works very well. It is relatively easy to use, and makes espresso quickly for a fraction of the price at a coffee shop. It does have a small capacity though. In order to make a drink for my husband and myself, I need to unplug the machine, run the steam until empty, then open the reservoir to refill. It would be much more convenient if it either had a larger reservoir or was simpler to refill. For just myself, however, it makes just the right amount quickly. I spend less time making my own drink than I would sitting in line at a coffee shop.
Date published: 2017-11-06
Rated 3 out of 5 by from ALL I WANT IS A REPLACEMENT WAND I received this machine as a gift from my mom in another state. I loved it but the wand is defective and is cracked everywhere around it. I am not the only person that has gotten a machine that has a defective wand. My mother had one as well and there are other reviews saying the same. Mr. Coffee needs to fix this issue and replace everyone's steam wand on this machine. The espresso is great with Lavazza. I enjoy the steamed milk but now I can't use the wand. I hope you all will correct yourselves when you offer a replacement then you should do it instead of saying later that you can't replace it. That is called "BAD BUSINESS" My next machine will be a better one hopefully with no defects. I do like my latte though!
Date published: 2018-04-05
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good coffee but a few concerns The Mr Coffee expresso maker is a good product, but I do have a few concerns. The power cord is not long at all, so you are limited on where you can place it without having to use extension cords. Also, difficult to find expresso ground coffee unless you go into Starbucks and have them grind it for you. Standard ground coffee doesn’t seem to brew as well. But when using the correct coffee, the process of using this machine and the taste of the coffee and steamed milk is great! I received this item free in return for my honest review and testing.
Date published: 2017-11-07
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Great machine but... I bought this 4 months ago after having my first one for a year. The older model didnt have the cleanable froth arm so i think it was clogged but no matter what i did it wouldnt froth anymore. The second one (this model) has been a nightmare! First the black plastic cover on the froth arm broke in half within a week. It wouldnt even make my coffee warm enough so i had to turn on the frother to get it to percalate for a bit to get the water to be warm enough to brew the coffee right and now after only 4 months it wont even turn on! Im so disappointed and theres nothing that puts you in a bad mood more then your coffee maker not working. Good thing its only $40 or i would be more then just disappointed. My advice is to keep the receipt so you can bring it back or make sure and fill out that registration paperwork cuz youre gunna have issues.
Date published: 2018-05-03
Rated 2 out of 5 by from BVMC-ECM17 Poor quality plastic on the Frothing Wand, it breaks into multiple pieces after being used. They need to supply extra wands in each box if they aren't going to correct the problem.
Date published: 2018-05-31
Rated 3 out of 5 by from A Decent Espresso Maker with Minor Flaws The Mr. Coffee Steam Espresso Maker is a product that does what it is designed to do. Make espresso without the headache and frustrations of a industrial sized espresso maker. It gets the job done at a fraction of the price and size. The good -- Price. Small size. Cups are actually able to fit under the brewing system. Unlike my more expensive DeLonghi system which has a very small clearance. And it works. Plus included Mr. Coffee Espresso Cup. The not so good -- Makes small drink at one time. No high pressure relief valve unless you leave the steam turned on. Plastic attached to steam wand came off the other day (month usage) due to heat from steam wand. Apparently just glued on. Overall -- I do recommend. A $50 price tag is still way cheaper than a more expensive DeLonghi system. Also, which has flaws. ** Just heed precautions with the hot water pressure relief. ** If a company took the positives from the Mr. Coffee and the DeLonghi system — it would be even better. Both have good and bad pitfalls.
Date published: 2017-11-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for the money The machine makes great espresso and for the price of this machine it works very well. It is very easy to use and easy to clean. I like the steaming of the milk for lattes and cappuccino. Something I noticed is that the steam is not really hot and a bit cool but other than that it works great for the money. Considering the amount of money you save from going out and buying coffee and espresso and lattes from those super expensive coffee shops I think it is a good investment. I received mine for free and I couldn't be happier with the product.
Date published: 2017-11-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love my Mr. Coffee Steam Espresso Maker! I have been using my Mr. Coffee Steam Espresso Maker almost daily for weeks now, and I’ve really enjoyed it! It makes great coffee, although I’m not completely convinced it is an “espresso strength” brew. I especially enjoy the milk steamer and frother feature - it has transformed my coffee experience! I have no complaints about the design or durability of the product; it seems pretty sturdy to me and like it will last for quite some time. I hope you will enjoy it as much as I have. I received this product for free for my honest product review.
Date published: 2017-11-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Milk Frother I am going to review my Mr Coffee Espresso Latte & Cappuccino Maker is like to start off by saying that I absolutely love it! it has saved me SOO much money by making my drinks at home rather then buying them at the coffee shop! It has so many different functions that I can have a drink as simple as an Espresso or latte but my personal favorite is a nice hot cappuccino! It has a milk frother on it and it's SOO convenient. I definitely recommend this for anyone who likes to save money and still get the same drinks you'd get in a coffee shop!
Date published: 2017-11-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Cute little Machine This is a cute little expresso machine. Although it performs the required tasks to make the desired results, it requires more time and effort than anticipated. This machine is capable of brewing the espresso and steaming the milk. It just requires that the user stand there and produce the results them self. If espresso is important to you, then you’re going to be willing to stand there and perform the tasks. If you just want something quick and run this is more of the weekend lazy day machine for you. I received this unit to review.
Date published: 2017-11-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to use with coffee have quality I really like this espresso makers; it's easy to use, makes your espresso fast and has a quick and easy clean up. If you like to make a cappuccino or other drinks that use frothed milk it is an easy and quick transition to use the steam arm after you have finished your espresso with a simple turn of the knob. When you have finished using your machine for the day the cleanup and release of built up steam is quick as well as cleaning. I highly recommend that you get a coffee grinder since you need your grounds smaller than the average ground that you get at a store prepackaged. Overall I think it's worth the value if you drink espresso from a coffee shop on a regular basis this allows you to get the drink just the way you like it at a smaller price.
Date published: 2017-11-06
Rated 1 out of 5 by from So disappointed This was a Christmas gift from my in-laws. I was so excited to finally own an espresso machine! Sadly, this product really missed the mark. First of all, after running many rounds of just plain water through the machine, I could never get the melted plastic smell/taste to go away. Second, it does not brew espresso, it brews coffee. Absolutely no crema! Finally, just like so many others, the wand broke and the company still (even after stating that replacement parts would be rolling out a year ago) does not offer replacement parts for this model. I only got to use this machine a handful of times before having to throw it in the trash. I have used many, many Mr. Coffee products over the years and I have loved them, but this one was truly disappointing.
Date published: 2019-05-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Small and powerful!!! I am very excited about that Mr. coffee espresso Machine. I have seen espresso machines and I always wanted to have one of my hown, so when I got this one for free to try it out and give my honest review I was very excited. The problem with other machines that I have seen seem very large and take up too much counter space. But this machine was quite small but very powerful The coffee taste great and the steamer unit worked great! The only negative things I would say is that the steamer stem is a little too short and the handle that holds the coffee does not stand up by itself when I'm trying to put coffee grounds into it. I just lean it up against the machine when I'm putting grounds in it. Problem solved!! I would definitely recommend this to friends and family.
Date published: 2017-11-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy to use My first impression of the Mr. Coffee Espresso and Cappuccino machine is that it's a good size and nice and lightweight. It's not too big so it's fits nicely on my kitchen counter without taking too much room. It does a good job at making espresso and is a good value for what the price. At first it took several times before I could froth the milk correctly. It doesn't produce the exact same products as what you would get from a coffee shop but it does a nice job when I'm at home and don't feel like going out to by coffee.
Date published: 2017-11-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fast and Inexpensive Espresso! The Mr Coffee espresso maker works very well. It is relatively easy to use, and makes espresso quickly for a fraction of the price at a coffee shop. It does have a little room for improvement. The cup that holds the coffee does not easily slide in. I have to bend over and visually line it up every time I use it, even after several uses. Also, the reservoir is small capacity. In order to make a drink for my husband after myself, I need to unplug the machine, run the steam until empty, then open the reservoir to refill. It would be much more convenient if it either had a larger reservoir or was simpler to refill. For just myself, however, it makes just the right amount quickly. I spend less time making my own drink than I would sitting in line at a coffee shop.
Date published: 2017-11-06
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Decent machine, plastic doesn't hold up well I bought this on sale at Target maybe three months ago, tops. The espresso is good to my pedestrian tastes. I don't use the frothing wand; I use a hand-held frother because I like lots of really thick foam. The handle to the thing that holds in the filter basket broke yesterday and broke completely today so that now I can't use the machine at all. The plastic end that meets the metal cup is what broke. I don't see that I can buy a replacement so now I'm really peeved. Until this happened, though, I really liked it.
Date published: 2018-09-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Makes great expresso but the frother cracked I buy one of these machines on every business trip. Cost about $40 from Walmart or Target and makes great expresso and lattes. My only complaint is the plastic frothing attachment is not heat resistant. I breaks and/or melts and gets loose everytime. Wish there was a silicone replacement.
Date published: 2019-02-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Broken within 6 months This was my 3rd Mr. Coffee espresso machine. I got my first one in the 90’s, and it lasted for years and years of daily use. The 2nd started leaking steam out of the coffee basket after a few years, but this latest model didn’t even make it 6 months. The brew/steam/off knob has a cheap plastic shaft that just snapped when I tried to turn the machine on. When I contacted Mr. Coffee they said the knob wasn’t covered under warranty and there was nothing they could do. Cheap product!!! Don’t waste your money!
Date published: 2018-06-04
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Steam brew knob broke off in less then a week I bought this product on July 15, 5018 and after making a latte on July 19, 2018 I turned the steam brew knob and it just came off. It looks like it internally melted. This product isn't designed to brew more then one latte a day. It worked fine for the for 4 days I had.
Date published: 2018-07-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from best for the price I bought the machine 2 years ago. It was my first espresso machine so I didn't want to spend a fortune; it cost $40 at Target. I have been very happy with it. I was drinking almost a pot of coffee a day and now I have 1 cup and I am done ( I work from my home). My only complaint is the frothier would sometimes stop working then start again. Now it has stopped completely. I always use bottled water so not sure what happened. I will resort back to my regular coffee machine until I purchase a new one.
Date published: 2019-12-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product! This Mr Coffee Expresso machine is great! I received it for free for reviewing it. I use it every day to make everything from my morning coffee to Lattes to Expresso to Cappucchinos. The frothing feature is convenient and means my old electric frother, which took up too much space on my counter, is no longer needed. It is easy to use, easy to clean and fun to try different types of drinks with. I threw my old coffee maker away freeing up even more space on my counter. This is the only one you need.
Date published: 2017-11-01
Rated 2 out of 5 by from One down side We got this as a wedding gift and it has been working great...... 4th time using the frother and it just broke. The were no signs leading up to it. also no replacement parts can be found. Were the plastic parts ever heat or time tested?
Date published: 2018-05-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Brew! Quick and Easy! I am very happy with this machine! It is very easy to use, and conveniently holds all the tools so they don"t take up extra space. It is compact, and has a little cube compartment for the cord, which makes it easy to pack away or nestle in with the rest of your appliances! The espresso is brewed in under two minutes, the water drips evenly over all the grounds at convenient two or four shots of espresso.The only mild negative is steam from the machine IS HOT, just be careful when touching any metal after brewing or breathing in or near steam! ((IF YOU HAVE A GARDEN LOOK INTO USING THE USED GROUNDS for gardening, or just DISPOSE OF THEM IN SOIL or near plants outside where allowed)) The espresso cup does Not let grounds through, and whatever beans you use will be done justice with this brewer.
Date published: 2018-12-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Inexpensive, but functional I recently received the Mr. Coffee espresso machine free as a part of a product testing assignment. I am an avid coffee drinker, and have recently drifted towards more espresso based coffee drinks. I was very happy with the machine’s style, small size and functionality. I purchase most of the coffee that I drink from a local coffee shop, therefore I would never purchase an expensive espresso machine. But the Mr. Coffee unit is a great option for an inexpensive yet functional espresso machine.
Date published: 2017-11-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Best Espresso Maker under $50 It's Sunday morning and all I can think of is a good cup of coffee! I bought this Mr Coffee Espresso Maker about 18 months ago and I couldn't be happier, I brag about it with my friends on how my coffee experience every morning is so good. I like to wait a long time to offer reviews to make sure a item stands in working condition for at least a year. My wife has bought me a few different espresso makers in the past 20 years and I would end up taking them back for a variety of reasons but mostly because I wanted a metal water holding container. For under $50 and with a non-plastic water container which helps build more pressure to push against the coffee grounds and prevent build up of possible bacterial elements, you just can beat it. I hope Mr Coffee never discontinue making this model as is.
Date published: 2020-02-09
  • y_2020, m_11, d_29, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_101
  • loc_en_US, sid_SP_544008, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_mrcoffee-jcs
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 0ms
  • reviews, product